NZCT Junior Boys National Finals: Day Two

The 2006 NZCT Junior Boys’ National Finals got underway at Taupo’s Owen Delany Park on day two after a washed-out opening round.

In Pool A, Auckland’s St Kentigern College defeated Hamilton College by five wickets and Palmerston North Boys High completed a seven-wicket victory over Otago Boys’ High.

St Kentigern won the toss and put Hamilton into bat, and openers Matthew Turton (41) and Scott Kuggeleijn (27) thrived in the damp conditions, putting on a stand of 82.

Matthew Thomas (26) and Alex Waterman (36) contributed as Hamilton made 163/5 off their 40 overs, despite the efforts of Thomas Spall, who claimed three wickets.

In reply St Kentigern College were always up with the required run rate mainly through a third wicket partnership between Richard Skelton (36) and captain Matthew Selby (42), and made3 164 for five with a couple of overs to spare.

Palmerston North BHS captain Tim Richards enjoyed a fine performance.

After winning the toss and electing to field, his team looked to have slipped as Otago made 3/82 on the back of solid innings by Ciaran McMeeken (28) and Matt Hunter (22).

However, Richards intervened to devastating effect with a tournament record-equalling five for nine runs off eight overs, while Campbell Findlay grabbed 3/27 as Otago BHS were reduce to 114/9.

A stubborn unbeaten last-wicket stand of 35 saw Otago BHS through to 149/9.

Palmerston North BHS replied strongly through Dane Cleaver (35) and Richards (64no), who put on a second-wicket partnership of 93 to guide their team to 151/3.

Pool B saw St Bede’s College of Christchurch scored a seven-wicket win over New Plymouth Boys' High School and Tauranga Boys’ College scored a similar triumph over Wellington College.

Wellington opener Tom Logan made 26 but Gurpreet Singh’s 4/16 saw the capital side removed for 93. Singh was assisted by Jamie Davies and Zac Newton who both chipped in with two wickets each.

Tauranga BC made short work of reaching the total, making 95/3 in 22 overs.

New Plymouth BHS made steady progress, but the loss of regular wickets saw them all out for 124 in the 34th over.

Their main contributors were Vincent Sharpe (20) and Warwick Millar (23). Runs were hard to come by because of the accuracy of the St Bede's College attack, with Hayden Sinclair taking 4/36 to the fore.
Matthew Ireland 3/22 and James Sullivan 2/10 were also in the wickets.

St Bede's College had little difficulty in surpassing the total due to a second stand of 109 between James Sullivan (40) and Mitchell Kerr (63no). Fraser Johnson claimed two of the three wickets to fall.

Short scoreboards

Pool A
St Kentigern College v Hamilton BHS
Hamilton BHS: 163/5 (Matthew Turton 41, Scott Kuggeleijn 27, Matthew Thomas 26, Alex Waterman 36; Thomas Spall 3/19)
St Kentigern College: 164/5 (Richard Skelton 36, Matthew Selby 42)
St Kentigern College won by five wickets.

Palmerston North BHS v Otago BHS
Otago BHS: 149/9 (Ciaran McMeeken 28, Matt Hunter 22; Tim Richards 5/9, Campbell Findlay 3/27)
Palmerston North BHS: 151/3 (Tim Richards 64 no, Dane Cleaver 35; Daniel Duke 2/23)
Palmerston North BHS won by seven wickets.

Pool B
New Plymouth BHS v St Bede's College
New Plymouth BHS: 124 (Vincent Sharpe 20, Warwick Millar 23; Hayden Sinclair 4/36, Matthew Ireland 3/22, James Sullivan 2/10)
St Bede's College: 125/3 (James Sullivan 40, Mitchell Kerr 63no; Fraser Johnson 2/24)
St Bede's College won by seven wickets.

Wellington College v Tauranga BC
Wellington College: 93 (Gurpreet Singh 4/16, Jamie Davies 2/24, Zac Newton 2/19)
Tauranga BC: 95/3 (Nic Evemy 32; Harry Wright 2/21)
Tauranga BC won by seven wickets.






Asahi CCC Dream11 Dulux Ford Gillette GJ Gardner KFC Life Direct Pals Powerade Spark Spark