Women's Under 19 Tournament

NZC's Gillette Venus Under 19 National Tournament for women plays a vital role in the development of the country's young cricketers.

The tournament provides a stepping stone for female players who are leaving school cricket behind and pushing for Domestic representative honors. For many players, the tournament is the first opportunity to play against their peers from around New Zealand. 

This national tournament was previously contested at the Under 21 level.

In 2019, the ICC announced the exciting introduction of the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup for women. The NZC national tournament age bracket was therefore changed to align and enhance the Under 19 development pathway towards national representation.


Playing Conditions

Match Official Appointments

Winners Gillette Venus Women's U19

2023/24  Auckland
2022/23  Wellington
2021/22  Central Districts
2020/21  Auckland
2019/20  Central Districts

Previous Winners NZC National U21

In 2019/20, the NZC Under-21 tournament was superceded by a new Under-19 age-group for women

2018/19  Auckland   
2017/18  Central Districts  
2016/17  Auckland
2015/16  Central Districts
2014/15  Auckland 
2013/14  Auckland
2012/13  Canterbury 
2011/12  Auckland  
2010/11  Auckland
2009/10  Auckland 
2008/09  Auckland 
2007/08  Canterbury  
2006/07  Wellington
2005/06  Canterbury
2004/05  Auckland and Canterbury   
2003/04  Central Districts


Trish McKelvey Trophy  

The Trish McKelvey Trophy was awarded to the best player at the National Women's Under-21 Tournament each year.

Coaches vote on this award throughout the tournament with players accumulating points from each match. The tournament is named after a former New Zealand captain and one of New Zealand's and world cricket's most successful players.

For New Zealand, McKelvey played 15 Tests (1966 to 1978/79), scoring 699 runs at an average of 29.12 and with a highest score of 155 not out. She played 21 One-Day Internationals (1977/78 to 1981/82), scoring 320 runs at an average of 21.33.

After her retirement she remained active as an administrator, managing New Zealand teams and serving as an NZC Board member. McKelvey is an NZC life member.  


2019/20  Not presented at Under-19 level

2018/19  Saachi Shahri (Auckland)

2017/18  Jess Watkin (Central Districts)

2016/17  Amelia Kerr (Wellington)

2015/16  Rebecca Burns (Wellington) and Katie Gurrey (Northern Districts)

2014/15  Rebecca Burns (Wellington) 

2013/14  Natalie Dodd (Northern Districts)

2012/13  Hayley Jensen (Canterbury)

2011/12  Felicity Leydon-Davis (Northern Districts)

2010/11  Maddy Green (Auckland)

2009/10  Esther Lanser (Central Districts)

2008/09  Esther Lanser (Central Districts) 

2007/08  Natalie Dodd (Northern Districts)

2006/07  Kelly Sutherland (Auckland) and Lucy Doolan (Wellington)

2005/06  Lucy Doolan (Wellington)

2004/05  Amy Satterthwaite (Canterbury) 

2003/04  Sophie Devine (Wellington) and Elizabeth Scurr (Otago)

2002/03  Aimee Mason (Central Districts) 

2001/02  Frances King (Wellington) 






Asahi CCC Dream11 Dulux Ford Gillette GJ Gardner KFC Life Direct Pals Powerade Spark Spark