Hallyburton Johnstone Shield

New Zealand's first women’s Domestic competition began in the 1935/36 season with Wellington the first winner.

In those days, both men and women played long-format cricket only, and the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield began as a trophy won by direct challenge - similar to the men's interprovincial Hawke Cup today. It became a round robin for the first time in 1946/47.



In more recent decades, white-ball short formats have become the plinth of the women's game, and the pathway to international representation in what is today a six-team playing field in New Zealand Domestic cricket.

Both NZC's national Domestic competitions for women are played with the white ball, in the T20 and one-day formats.



The historic Hallyburton Johnstone Shield is now the prize for one-day supremacy, and sees our six Domestic teams across New Zealand competing against each other across the summer.

Teams play two rounds, typically back-to-back on a weekend at the same venue, with admission free to the public, matches livestreamed here at nzc.nz and on NZC YouTube, and players all striving for both wins and WHITE FERNS selection.

The competition bookends the fun and excitement of the Dream11 Super Smash window that takes place mid-summer, played as T20 double bills with the men's Dream11 Super Smash games, and matches televised.

Playing Conditions

Match Official Appointments

The Auckland Hearts have been the most frequent Hallyburton Johnstone Shield winners over recent years, and notably trumped first-time Finalists Northern Districts in a magnificent 2019/20 Grand Final that saw 577 runs scored in the game, including two centuries, in Hamilton!

The Otago Sparks entered the 2022/23 season as the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield defending champions after having beaten Wellington Blaze in the previous season's Grand Final.

However, Wellington Blaze would end their long-running one-day title drought in 2022/23, with a thrilling last-over win over the Canterbury Magicians in Queenstown in Canterbury legend Amy Satterthwaite's farewell game.


Recent Champions

T20 & One-Day

2023/24  Wellington Blaze & Otago Sparks
2022/23  Canterbury Magicians & Wellington Blaze
2021/22  Wellington Blaze & Otago Sparks
2020/21  Canterbury Magicians & Canterbury Magicians
2019/20  Wellington Blaze & Auckland Hearts
2018/19  Wellington Blaze & Central Hinds
2017/18  Wellington Blaze & Auckland Hearts
2016/17  Otago Sparks & Canterbury Magicians
2015/16  Canterbury Magicians & Auckland Hearts
2014/15  Wellington Blaze & Auckland Hearts
2013/14  Auckland Hearts & Otago Sparks
2012/13  Wellington Blaze & Canterbury Magicians
2011/12  Canterbury Magicians & Auckland Hearts
2010/11  Canterbury Magicians & Canterbury Magicians
2009/10  Central Hinds & Central Hinds







Asahi CCC Dream11 Dulux Ford Gillette GJ Gardner KFC Life Direct Pals Powerade Spark Spark