State League 2005-06

The 2005-06 State League season starts this month with champions State Canterbury Magicians and their five contenders ready to commence rivalries on the field once again.

The six Major Associations have finalised their squads according to New Zealand Cricket regulations.

Major Associations were required to name their squads of 13 by December 5 and are then able to draft players from other provinces.

Known as inter- Association players, each team is allowed a maximum of two at any one time and overseas players are not restricted by this classification.

The State League Round 1 starts on December 27 (), with the final planned for Saturday January 28.

State Auckland Hearts
The Hearts lost the final to Canterbury last season and will want to go one better this time. They have lost Emily Drumm to State Northern Spirit but welcome former White Fern Michelle Lynch after a year’s hiatus. The form of White Ferns squad member Ros Kember also bodes well.

Squad: Rebecca Rolls (captain), Saskia Bullen, Shanna Coetzee, Ingrid Cronin-Knight, Ros Kember, Elfriede Komp, Victoria Lind, Michelle Lynch, Prashilla Mistry, Debbie Ramsay, Natalee Scripps, Megan Tremaine, Helen Watson
Coach: Wally Stamp

State Canterbury Magicians
The State League champions have recruited former England player Mandie Godliman, who had played for Wellington as an inter-association player last season. Three more new players - bowlers Michelle Mitchell, Tabitha Waterreus and Kim Minogue – strengthen an already competitive squad. Young all-rounder Amy Satterthwaite, a White Ferns squad member, will also be more than useful to their title defence. The team have changed venue for this season, and will play at the Village Green, QE II instead of Redwood Park.

Squad Haidee Tiffen (captain), Sarah Burke, Selena Charteris, Maria Fahey, Mandie Godliman, Beth McNeill, Rowan Milburn, Kim Minogue, Michelle Mitchell, Hannah Rae, Amy Satterthwaite, Rebecca Steele, Tabatha Wattereus
Coach: Kirsty Flavell

State Central Hinds
The Hinds welcome former Wellington bowler Lincoln Doull as coach. The ex-Firebird joins as Liz Perry heads to the capital. Doull will need current White Ferns, Sara McGlashan and captain Aimee Mason to perform.

Squad: Aimee Mason (captain), Abby Burrows, Rachel Candy, Kendra Cocksedge, Sarah Duffill, Sara McGlashan, Zara McWilliams, Laura Pascall, Rachel Priest, Andrea Stockwell, Nicole Thessman, Donna Trow, Kelly Winkley

Coach: Lincoln Doull

State Northern Spirit
The arrival of White Fern Emily Drumm bolsters a strong batting line up, which also sees Anna Wilkins return from Canterbury. Janice Fraser and promising youngsters Megan Murphy and Tamara Gould will also provide quality at the crease, while Spirit also boast a strong bowling attack in White Ferns pace merchants Louise Milliken and Nicola Browne.

Squad: Nicola Browne (captain), Emily Drumm, Janice Fraser, Kelly Goodson, Tamara Gould, Maree Hannay, Tessa Hickson, Holly Huddleston, Louise Milliken, Megan Murphy, Aimie Stowers, Jeannette Ullyett, Anna Wilkins
Coach: Cliff Dickeson

State Otago Sparks
Former England pace bowler Clare Taylor has been named as the Sparks’ player/coach, but they have incurred two big losses in Paula Flannery, who has left New Zealand, and Rachel Pullar, who is unavailable this season.
Responsibility will rest with their White Ferns squad trio of captain Sarah Tsukigawa, Suzie Bates and Katey Martin, and New Zealand A player Megan Kane, to score the bulk of the runs.

Squad: Sarah Tsukigawa (captain), Suzie Bates, Rebecca Chittock, Jenna Innes, Shannon King, Abigail Kitchin, Megan Kane, Alana Kane, Katey Martin, Tanya Morrison, Kirsten Spence, Clare Taylor (Player/coach), Courtney Winsloe

State Wellington Blaze
Coach Robbie Kerr, also New Zealand A boss, will be joined by former Wellington men’s development coach Mark Borthwick to form a leadership duo.
The pair will be joined by a new captain, Anna Dodd (nee Corbin), while former White Fern Anna Smith (nee O'Leary) and Central Districts all-rounder Liz Perry have come in.
However, ex-White Ferns captain Maia Lewis, Margaret Presland and Losi Harford have all retired and promising youngster Sophie Devine misses out through injury.

Squad:Anna Dodd (captain), Olivia Bupha-Intr, Amanda Cooper, Lucy Doolan, Amanda Green, Sarah Hill, Amber Little, Elizabeth Perry, Elizabeth Scurr, Anna Smith, Melissa Taylor, Megan Tuapawa, Megan Wakefield
Coaches: Robbie Kerr/Mark Borthwick






Asahi CCC Dream11 Dulux Ford Gillette GJ Gardner KFC Pals Powerade Spark