Revival of Canterbury Town vs. Country Fixture

Canterbury Cricket and their associated districts would like to announce another fixture for the 2008/09 season. This Sunday, October 26th a STATE Canterbury Wizards Selection will take on a Districts XI at Mainpower Oval in Rangiora.

Canterbury Cricket Chief Executive Officer Lee Germon said ‘we are looking to re-establish the old Town vs. Country fixture. It has always proven to be a competitive day of cricket and highly beneficial as a warm-up game for the Wizards and Districts players.’
Each of the five districts: West Coast, Buller, South Canterbury, Mid Canterbury and Canterbury Country have put forward nominations from which the Districts selection was picked.

The first ball is scheduled to be bowled at 11:00am and will be a 50 over game played with the usual one day rules. Entry to the ground is free.

The Districts Selection is:

Andrew Duncan (Buller)
Andrew Robertson (Canterbury Country)
Craig Davies (South Canterbury)
Dan Laming (South Canterbury)
Hamish Bennett (South Canterbury)
Ian King (Canterbury Country)
Matt Laffey (Canterbury Country)
Peter Borren (Canterbury Country)
Peter Carey (Canterbury Country)
Peter Fulton (Canterbury Country)
Sam Langrope (Canterbury Country)
Troy Scanlon (Buller)

The Canterbury Wizard Selection is:

Amandeep Singh (Sydenham)
Andrew Ellis (Lancaster Park Woolston)
Brandon Hiini (East Christchurch Shirley)
Corey Anderson (Old Boys Collegians)
Iain Robertson (Riccarton)
Johann Myburgh (Marist Harewood)
Kruger Van Wyk- captain (Burnside-West Christchurch-University)
Laren Guthrie (Riccarton)
Michael Papps (East Christchurch Shirley)
Michael Vermuelen (East Christchurch Shirley)

Shanan Stewart (Riccarton)
Todd Astle (Old Boys Collegians)

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB