NZCT Junior Boys National Finals: Day Four

Tauranga Boys College won the 2006 NZCT Cup after a narrow one-wicket victory over St Kentigern College of Auckland at Taupo’s Owen Delany Park.

The weather which affected cricket all over the country cleared to produce , warm conditions with bright sunshine and clear blue skies for the crossover matches between the two pools, to determine the rankings for each of the eight competing teams.

And Tauranga squeezed home with little more than an over to spare after a resolute innings by tailender Campbell Jones overcame Thomas Spall’s four-wicket performance.

St Kentigern College were pressurised by Tauranga BC’s accurate bowling, with captain Mathew Selby the highest scorer with 24 as they were dismissed in the 29th over for 127.

A 25-run, ninth-wicket stand between Michael Shivnan and Trent Cooper helped boost the sscore into three figures.

But Tauranga Boys' College made hard work of scoring the runs, with Jamie Davies’ the top mark from the top order batters, before Jones followed two wickets with an unbeaten 25 to win the game.

Palmerston North Boys' High School claimed third place with a six-wicket defeat of Wellington College.
Adam Milne’s 57 not out helped his side recover from 28 for four to surpass Wellington’s 131/9.

Hamilton Boys’ College were fifth after their 42-run win over St Bede’s College, Christchurch.

A strong batting effort saw them register 165 with three players - Scott Kuggeleijn [26], Steven Cullingworth [31] and Peter Bocock [33] excelling.

Bowling for St Bede's College Matthew Henry had an outstanding spell taking 4/13, while Matthew Kottier captured 2/19.

St Bede's had a steady start courtesy of Mitchell Kerr [25], but could not capitalise on this being dismissed for 123. Matthew Thomas' left arm spin secured him 3/17, while Alex Waterman grabbed 2/18 to secure the win.

A three-wicket triumph over Otago Boys’ High School gave New Plymouth Boys' High School seventh place in the finals.

Otago BHS won the toss and decided to bat. They built a solid total of 156/8 with Matt Hunter [21] and Stuart Malthus [24] leading the way, and five others getting into double figures. Josh Mclean with a well earned 4/29 was the pick of the New Plymouth BHS bowlers.

In reply New Plymouth BHS were 86/5 at 20 overs with Vincent Sharpe having scored 27. The latter half of the innings was dominated by an aggressive 50 not out by James Linehan which saw reach 157/7 and a win. Daniel Duke and Blair Soper claimed two wickets apiece.

Short scorecards

St Kentigern College v Tauranga Boys' College
St Kentigern College: 127 [Mathew Selby 24]
[Zac Newton 2/19, Campbell Jones 2/18, Jamie Davies 2/26, Luke Francis 2/18]
Tauranga BC: 128/9 [Jamie Davies 33, Campbell Jones 25no; Thomas Spall 4/28]
RESULT: Win to Tauranga Boys' College by one wicket

Palmerston North Boys' High School v Wellington College
Wellington College: 131/9 [Sam Lawson 24, Chamika Gajanayaka 32, Tom Gibson
36no; Campbell Findlay 2/44, Adam Milne 2/16]
Palmerston North BHS: 135/4 [M Meyer 45no, Adam Milne 57no]
Win to Palmerston North BHS by 6 wickets

Hamilton Boys' High School v St Bede's College
Hamilton BHS: 165 [Scott Kuggeleijn 26, Steven Cullingworth 31,Peter Bocock 33]
[Matthew Henry 4/13,Matthew Kottier 2/19]
St Bede's College: 123 [Mitchell Kerr 25; Matthew Thomas 3/17, Alex Waterman 2/19]
Win to Hamilton Boys' High School by 42 runs

New Plymouth Boys' High School v Otago Boys' High School
Otago BHS: 156/8 [Matt Hunter 21, Stuart Malthus 24, Josh Mclean 4/29, Warwick Millar 2/36]
New Plymouth BHS: 157/7 [Vincent Sharpe 27, James Linehan 50no; Blair Soper 2/33, Daniel Duke 2/17]
Win to New Plymouth Boys' High School by 3 wickets

Final placings
1 Tauranga Boys' College
2 St Kentigern College
3 Palmerston North Boys' High School
4 Wellington College
5 Hamilton Boys' High School
6 St Bede's College
7 New Plymouth Boys' High School
8 Otago Boys' High School






Asahi CCC Dream11 Dulux Ford Gillette GJ Gardner KFC Life Direct Pals Powerade Spark Spark