NZCT Junior Boys Finals: Day Three

An exciting tied game between Palmerston North Boys' High School and Hamilton Boys' High School was one of the highlights of the third day of the NZCT Junior Boys Finals at Taupo.

In glorious autumn conditions at Owen Delany Park, Auckland’s St Kentigern College overcame Otago Boys’ High School in the other Pool A game and Pool B saw wins for Tauranga Boys’ College and Wellington College.

Palmerston North BHS opened with 178 for three from their innings with Dane Cleaver (54no) posting a half century and captain Tim Richards (41) and Bevan Small (28no) assisting.

Hamilton BHS in reply made a great fist of their reply due to a quality innings of 65 by Eli McKillop.

A nail biting game was left level after three run outs in the latter stages left the Waikato team also on 178.

Palmerston North BHS captain Tim Richards against backed up a fine knock with good bowling figures of 3/34 and Campbell Findlay grabbed two wickets.

Five St Kentigern College batsmen contributed significantly to their total of 230 for five.
Richard Skelton (46) led the way with solid backing from Brad Stanfield (39), Mathew Scarborough (30) Mathew Selby (29) and Thomas Spall (29no).

Otago BHS never threatened St Kentigern College's total and were dismissed in the 32nd over for a modest 81.

Trent Cooper made the Honours Board with an accurate spell of 4/14. He was well supported by Spall (2/6 off five overs) and Kurt Stevenson (3/23).

In Pool B, Wellington College batted first against Christchurch’s St Bede’s College and scored 147/4 in their 40 overs - mainly due to the efforts of Tom Logan (39), and an unbeaten fifth wicket stand between Tom Gibson (32no) and Chamika Gajanayaka (22no). The best of the St Bede's College bowlers was Hamish Teale who took three wickets.

He, then along with Matthew Ireland, did their best to scored the required runs, but the loss of regular wickets saw St Bede's College dismissed for 124.

The Wellington College wickets were shared between Harry Wright with three and Tom Morgan and Alex Wan who took two a piece - all three bowlers completed economical spells.

Tauranga Boys' College made first use of the wicket against New Plymouth BHS and notched up an excellent tally of 186, largely due to very useful contributions by Shaun Sievwright (22), Jamie Davies (20), Nick Evemy (22), Zac Scott (24) and skipper Chris Johnston (38).

Best of the New Plymouth BHS bowlers were Josh Mclean and Jarrod Hinton who both took two wickets.

New Plymouth put up a spirited chase, especially through the efforts of James Linehan (47no) and Ben West (20), and then some lusty hitting by Nathan Keenan (38) in the later stages of the innings.

However, when he was out, their chances faded and they fell 15 runs short. Gurpreet Singh again bowled well taking two wickets.

Short scorecards
Pool A
St Kentigern College v Otago Boys' High School

St Kentigern College: 164/5 (Richard Skelton 46, Brad Stanfield 39, Mathew
Scarborough 30, Mathew Selby 29, Thomas Spall 29no)
Otago BHS: 81 (Trent Cooper 4/14, Thomas Spall 2/6, Kurt Stevenson 3/23)
St Kentigern College by 83 runs

Palmerston North Boys' High School v Hamilton Boys' High School
Palmerston North BHS: 178/3 (Dane Cleaver 54no, Tim Richards 41, Bevan Small
Hamilton BHS: 178 (Eli McKillop 65; Tim Richards 3/34, Campbell Findlay 2/31)
Match tied

Pool B
Wellington College v St Bede's College
Wellington College: 147/4 (Tom Logan 39, Tom Gibson 32no, Chamika Gajanayaka
(Hamish Teale 3/29)
St Bede's College: 124 (Hamish Teale 33, Matthew Ireland 23)
(Harry Wright 3/18, Tom Morgan 2/17, Alex Wan 2/26)
Wellington College won by 23 runs

Tauranga Boys’ College v New Plymouth BHS
Tauranga BC: 186/7 (Shaun Sievwright 22, Jamie Davies 20, Nick Evemy 22, Zac Scott 24, Chris Johnston 38; Josh Mclean 2/27, Jarrod Hinton 2/33)
New Plymouth BHS: 171/5 (James Linehan 47no, Ben West 20, Nathan Keenan 38; Gurpreet Singh 2/32
Tauranga Boys' College won by 15 runs

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks Dulux KFC
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Export Powerade TAB