NZ Māori Secondary Schoolboys team named

The inaugural New Zealand Māori Schools side to play a Governor General’s XI in Wellington next month will feature players from all six Major Associations.

The Māori team, selected by long-term Northern Districts’ administrator Pat Malcon and NZC Talent Identification Manager Paul Wiseman, includes five players from Central Districts; three from
Northern Districts, and one each from Auckland, Wellington, Canterbury and Otago.

It will be coached by Mark Borthwick, formerly of the Wellington Blaze.

NZC Network and Participation Advisor Andrew Tara said the introduction of the NZ Māori Schools side was part of his organisation’s push to better connect with Māori.

“NZC’s over-riding strategy is for cricket to be a game for all New Zealanders, irrespective of race, religion, gender or sexual orientation,” he said.

“This is one of the ways we hope to extend the game’s reach and make it more accessible to under-represented communities.”

NZC has already made advances in this area, having last year implemented a range of modified playing programmes designed to make the game more welcoming, relevant and dynamic for junior and youth cricketers.

Mr Tara said the Māori schoolboys team, supported by the New Zealand Cricket Players Association and School Sport NZ, attracted 46 nominations and a high calibre of potential candidates – three of those selected are members of the New Zealand Under 19 squad.

The team, which will play a Governor General’s XI including former international Hamish Marshall on March 7 at Karori, will stay at the Tapu Te Ranga Marae in Island Bay

NZ Māori Schools Team




Joel Clark

Ngā Puhi me Ngāti Rāhiri Tumutumu

Whanganui Collegiate

Tim Florence

Ngāti Whātua

Auckland Grammar School

Ryan Jackson

Ngā Māhanga a Tairi

St. Patrick’s College Silverstream

Joel Lavender

Te Āti Awa me Ngā Puhi

Marlborough Boys College

Ruben Love

Te Āti Awa

Palmerston North Boys High School

Rhys Mariu

Ngāi Tahu me Ngāti Tūwharetoa

St. Andrew’s College, Christchurch

Bailey McDonald

Ngāi Tūhoe 

Lindisfarne College, Hastings

Kuwyn Price

Ngāti Porou me Ngāti Hauā

St. Paul’s Collegiate, Hamilton

Nathan Robinson

Ngāti Hei

Kings College, Auckland

Brayden Thomas

Te Āti Awa

Southland Boys High School

Ollie White

Ngāti Apa 

Auckland Grammar School

Mitchell Williams-North


Napier Boys High School

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB