Will Young (Photosport)

NZ A name strong squad for India A one-dayers

Nine current or former BLACKCAPS have been named in the New Zealand A squad to play India A in three one-dayers at Bay Oval in early December.

NZC selection manager Gavin Larsen said the side was well balanced and featured an in-form top order alongside some talented all-rounders who could push their case for higher honours.

“This is the start of an important period of cricket for these players and an opportunity for them all to further their claims,” Larsen said.

“There’s plenty to play for in the top order. George Worker has been passed fit after HIA protocols and has shown his value over a number of strong domestic seasons.

“Will Young had a very good tour of the UAE where he scored consistent big runs before backing that up with an excellent century against India A in Hamilton last week.

“Hamish Rutherford scored a century in the Mount Maunganui match and his form at the start of this domestic season has been compelling,” Larsen said.

The squad features four all-rounders, including Jimmy Neesham who has been leading the way with the bat for his new side the Wellington Firebirds.

“He’s certainly in good form and hitting the ball as well as ever,” Larsen said after watching Neesham guide his side to victory with an unbeaten century in the Ford Trophy Elimination Final at the Eden Park Out Oval yesterday.

Canterbury captain Cole McConchie has earned his maiden call-up to NZ A while recalled Northern Districts all-rounder Daryl Mitchell also gets his chance with Larsen saying both selections were well deserved.

“It’s exciting to see new faces come into the NZ A programme,” he added.

“We have to ensure we are exploring our options and giving a number of players an opportunity at this level - that way our depth can only improve and competition for places increase.” 

The NZ A squad face India A in the first of three one-day games at Bay Oval on Friday December 7.


New Zealand A schedule


New Zealand A one-day squad v India A

Corey Anderson

Hamish Bennett

Doug Bracewell

Lockie Ferguson

Cole McConchie

Daryl Mitchell

Jimmy Neesham

Seth Rance

Rachin Ravindra

Hamish Rutherford

Tim Seifert

George Worker

Will Young

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade Radio Sport TAB