New Zealand Under-19 squad for World Cup announced

New Zealand Cricket has announced the New Zealand Under-19 team to participate in the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2010, to be held in New Zealand throughout January.

National age group selectors Kaushik Patel (convenor), John Wright, Chris Kuggeleijn and Lance Cairns confirmed the team this evening (Sunday) as the National Under-19 Cricket Tournament drew to a close.

The team is:

Corey Anderson (Canterbury)
Tom Blundell (Wellington)
Harry Boam (Wellington)
Doug Bracewell (Central Districts)
Michael Bracewell (Otago
Craig Cachopa (Auckland)
Dane Cleaver (Central Districts)
Jono Hickey (Northern Districts)
Tim Johnston (Canterbury)
Tom Latham (Canterbury)
Jimmy Neesham (Auckland)
Bevan Small (Central Districts)
Mattie Thomas (Northern Districts)
Logan Van Beek (Canterbury)
Ben Wheeler (Central Districts)

(Note: The captain is yet to be named)

As a warm-up to the U19 CWC the team will play a three-match series against the Pakistan Under-19 team in Blenheim between 3 and 7 January 2010.  

For the group round of the U19 CWC the team will be based in Christchurch, with their first game against Canada on 16 January. The other teams in New Zealand’s pool are Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe  

“The Under-19 Cricket World Cup gives our younger players a wonderful opportunity to test their ability against the best of their peers in the international arena and to set the platform for successful first-class playing careers” said coach Chris Kuggeleijn.

“The team is well balanced, with half the team having already played for the New Zealand Under-19s and a number who impressed at the recent National Under-19 tournament.”

Corey Anderson, Michael Bracewell and Harry Boam are no strangers to this tournament, having been members of the NZ Under-19 team which finished third at the 2008 event in Malaysia.  Anderson and Boam are into their second season of first-class cricket, as is Doug Bracewell.


With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels Burger King Caltex CCC Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade Radio Sport TAB