MILO Cup and Shield Finals 2006

King's School will play Hereworth School in Palmerston North to decide the 2006 MILO Cup winners and Cobham and Waimea Intermediate Schools will contest the MILO Shield after wins in their respective semi-finals today.

In the Cup, the competition for primary school boys’ teams, Hereworth defeated Medbury Preparatory by 64 runs.

Medbury won the toss and invited Hereworth to bat, and taking advantage of the excellent cricketing conditions they compiled a very good 149 for three in their 35 overs.

Their innings was built around an impressive 75no by number three batsman Ollie Morrison, and he was well supported by Tony McKinnie with a tidy 27.

In reply, Medbury found scoring difficult against an accurate attack and were all out for 85 in the 30th over, with Angus Smith 3/22, Sam Donaldson 2/11 and Matthew Gould 2/17 particularly dangerous.

Hometown school won the toss and asked King's School to bat, who made an excellent start to their innings and stood at 91 for two at one stage.

King's was dismissed for 146 in the 35th over, captain Charles Elton leading from the front with a stylish 61, while Faasiu Fuatai added 23.

Palmerston North could not keep up with the required run rate and finished thirty short on 116 for eight, Brynn Cleaver and James Holland both scoring twenties, while Faasiu Fuatai completed a good double with 3/16 and Conor Burns took 2/6.

In the Shield, the tournament for primary school girls, Waimea removed Berkley Normal Middle School for 48,

Zara Walker took 3/11, Kelsey Smith 2/7 and Hana Wilkinson 2/22, with their side knocking off the required runs in the 12th over at a cost of six wickets, three of those falling to Steph Gaile.

Cobham dispatched Feilding for 61 within 18 overs. Lauren Hanham took 3/15 and Alice Sharples 2/9 for Cobham, who claimed a win in 16 overs for the loss of just four wickets.

Kimberley Rattray and Anne MacKechnie both scored 16, while Brittanee Gore took 2/16.

The losing semi-finalists will play to determine third and fourth place.

MILO Cup short scoreboards

Hereworth; 149/3 [Ollie Morrison 75*, Tony McKinnie 27]
Medbury: 85 [Angus Smith 3/22, Sam Donaldson 2/11, Matthew Gould 2/17]
Result: Win to Hereworth by 64 runs

King's School: 146 [Charles Elton 61, Faasiu Fuatai 23; Richard Langley 2/26]
Palmerston North: 116/8 [Brynn Cleaver 24, James Holland 22; Faasiu Fuatai 3/16, Conor Burns 2/6]
Result: Win to King's by 30 runs

Milo Shield short scoreboards

Berkley: 48 [Zara Walker 3/11, Kelsey Smith 2/7, Hana Wilkinson 2/22]
Waimea: 52/6 [Steph Gaile 3/9]
Result: Win to Waimea Intermediate by 4 wickets

Feilding: 61 [Lauren Hanham 3/15, Alice Sharples]
Cobham: 65/4 [Brittanee Gore 2/16]
Result: Win to Cobham Intermediate by 6 wickets


King’s School claimed the 2006 MILO Cup title after a five-wicket win over Hereworth School in Palmerston North.

All matches on the finals day were reduced to 25 overs, but there was plenty of top-quality cricket in the finals of the primary schools cricket tournaments.

Sent into bat, a King’s opening stand of 65 between Charles Elton [44] and Angus Harman [22] set up the a solid base for Faasiu Fuatai to capitalise with an aggressive 47no, including three towering sixes, to amass 131/5.

In reply, Hereworth made a valiant attempt to get the runs but after an explosive start they lost wickets regularly to be all out for 102.

Tony McKinnie scored 22. Hanson Unasa 3/11 and Tom Frost 2/18 bowled accurately for King's to take them to victory.

In the third-place play off, Palmerston North Intermediate Normal School defeated Medbury Preparatory School, also by five-wickets.

Palmerston North put Medbury in, and they were immediately under pressure. Five run outs restricted their scoring to 74 in the allotted 25 overs. Tim McGoldrick posted a well-compiled 38.

In reply, opener Michael Gattsche carried his bat in scoring 33no to take his team to victory.

Short scoreboards and final placings

King's: 131/5 [Charles Elton 44, Angus Harman 22, Faasiu Fuatai 47*; Matthew Gould 2/26]
Hereworth: 102 [Tony McKinnie 22; Hanson Unasa 3/11, Tom Frost 2/18]
Result: Win to King's School by 5 wickets

Medbury: 74 [Tim McGoldrick 38]
Palmerston North: 75/5 [Michael Gattsche 33*; Edward Close 2/5, Jeremy Duncan 2/8]
Result: Win to Palmerston North Intermediate Normal School by 5 wickets

1. King's College
2. Hereworth School
3. Palmerston North Intermediate Normal School
4. Medbury Preparatory School

Cobham Intermediate claimed the 2006 MILO Shield after an eight-wicket win in a 25-over match against Waimea Intermediate.

Waimea scored 90 batting first, with Brooke Cantwell and Megan de Lambert grabbed two wickets apiece.

In reply, Cobham were always in control and scored 91/2 in the 22nd over.

Berkley Normal Middle School took third place after a four-wicket victory over Feilding Intermediate

Berkley won the toss and put Feilding into bat. Feilding scored 84 in their 25 overs in blustery conditions.

Top scorer was Tori Ratima 18, with Steph Goile taking 4/11, including a hat trick all bowled.

Berkley scored the necessary runs for the loss of six wickets.

Short scoreboards and final placings

Waimea: 90 [Brooke Cantwell 2/10, Megan de Lambert 2/6]
Cobham: 91/2 [Kimberley Rattray 21, Katie Edwards 19*]
Result: Win to Cobham Intermediate by 8 wickets

Feilding: 84 [Steph Goile 4/11, Felicity Leydon-Davis 221]
Berkley: 85/6 [Chance Warbrick 2/30, Natana Rakatau 2/15, Nikki Flintoff 2/10]
Result: Win by Berkley Normal Middle School by 4 wickets

1. Cobham Intermediate
2. Waimea Intermediate
3. Berkley Normal Middle School
4. Feilding Intermediate




With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade Radio Sport TAB