Cornwall wins national club title

Cornwall made it two in a row for Auckland sides as they took out a rain affected Southern Trust National Club Championships final against Sydenham.

Cornwall’s final day win over Sydneham, calculated on run rate, decided the outcome.

A dominating innings from the entire Cornwall top order set the groundwork for an imposing total of 296.

They lost Hamish McCarthy early but then Rob Nicol (79) and Michael Guptill-Bunce (55) put Cornwall in an exceptionally strong position. Raj Sharma (41) continued their good work and then Aaron Barnes (50), and Tarun Nethula (48) in particular, accelerated the innings.

Sydenham got off to a bright start but Hamish McCarthy (3-18) put the brakes on and when rain stopped play for the day Sydenham were well behind where they needed to be on run rate.

Jordan Sheed posted his third hundred of the tournament in leading Green Island to third place in the tournament. Sheed (118) and Hayden Finch (67) were the cornerstones of the Green Island effort which allowed them to get to 298. Hawera lost early wickets in their reply, with only Mark Parsons (64) posting a score of any real significance.

Naenae provided the most remarkable turn around of the tournament, as only a day after they were skittled for 42 they bounced back to smash 401 against City to claim fifth spot in the tournament.

A rollicking 190 from Adam Williams, that included 15 fours and seventeen sixes, propelled them to that massive total.

 In reply City were going along at a cracking pace themselves before the heavens opened, with Joey Yovich (75) leading the charge, but it was still not enough to be ahead of the required run rate. 

Rob Nicol was rewarded for his outstanding batting right throughout the week where he compiled 447 runs at 89.40 with the player of the tournament award.

In any other year Jordan Sheed’s three centuries would probably have got him that accolade but this year he had to settle for batsman of the tournament. His Green Island team mate Mark Joyce was named bowler of the tournament for his 16 wickets. 

(50 over match) Cornwall 296-4 (R Nicol 79, M Guptill-Bunce 55, A Barnes 50 T Nethula 48, R Sharma 41)  defeated Sydenham 133-6 (G Bell 35, C Ross 30, H McCarthy 3-18) on run rate.

(50 over match) Green Island 298-8 (J Sheed 118, H Finch 67, B Scott 36, D Good 4-35) defeated Hawera 163-8 (M Parsons 64, M Joyce 3-21) on run rate.

(50 over match) Naenae 401-8 (A Willliams 190, S Cross 61, V Menon 49, M Cornish 40no) defeated City 211-6  (J Yovich 75, D Goodwin 35) on run rate.

1st   Cornwall
2nd  Sydenham
3rd   Green Island
4th  Hawera
5th  Naenae
6th  City

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB