Boult & Devine win ANZ T20I awards | Kerr & Bracewell named Dream11 POY

Trent Boult’s red-hot form during the BLACKCAPS run to the ICC T20 World Cup Final in the UAE has seen him named Men’s ANZ T20 International Player of the Year, while WHITE FERNS captain Sophie Devine has claimed the corresponding women’s award on the opening day of the 2022 ANZ NZC Awards.

The awards, which are being delivered digitally over three days, also crowned Wellington pair Melie Kerr and Michael Bracewell as the Dream11 Super Smash Players of the Year, while Ross Taylor’s final wicket in his last Test in Christchurch was voted as the ANZ Fan Moment of the Summer.

Community Cricket was also honoured with Dunedin junior coach and administrator Gerard Finnie claiming the supreme Sir Jack Newman award for his tireless work in the Otago region, while the two new awards of Best Diversity and Inclusion Initiative, and Community Cricket Collaboration Initiative were taken out by Counties Manukau and Canterbury Cricket respectively.

WHITE FERNS and Auckland Hearts teenager Fran Jonas, along with rising Otago star Jacob Cumming were named the Gillette Venus and Gillette Young Players of the Year.

The full list of NZC Community Awards can be found here.

Upon accepting his award, Boult acknowledged the satisfaction of excelling in such a tough format for bowlers.

“It means a lot,” he said.

“T20 is a format I really enjoy and one I’m constantly trying to adapt my game to in order to become a better bowler.

“It’s something very special to win this award and I feel really grateful to receive it.”

Boult’s 13 wickets at the T20 World Cup at an average of 13.30 saw him preferred over teammates Tim Southee, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell and Ish Sodhi, who also had strong campaigns.

Sophie Devine’s second ANZ T20I award in two years came after she scored 118 runs in four outings at 29.50, with an overall strike-rate of 113.46 and a top-score of 50 against England, at Hove.

Devine’s Wellington Blaze teammate and last year’s T20I winner, all-rounder Melie Kerr, claimed back-to-back Women’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of Year titles, after scoring 346 runs at a strike-rate of 115, while taking 17 wickets with her leg-spin in the Blaze’s unbeaten T20 season.

“For me the focus is on just trying to enjoy my cricket,” Kerr said.

“I’d worked hard throughout that last winter so it was pleasing to go out there and perform in the season.

“I absolutely love playing for the Blaze and to complete an unbeaten season was really special.

“I’ve also got to thank the people around me who have supported me this season.”

The Men’s Dream11 Super Smash award was hotly contested with Canterbury’s Henry Shipley (18 wickets) pipping Auckland Aces paceman Lockie Ferguson (17) at the top of the bowling ladder, while recent BLACKCAPS call-ups Dane Cleaver (369) and Cam Fletcher (305) had hugely impressive campaigns with the bat.

However, it was Wellington Firebirds captain Michael Bracewell who claimed the award, with the all-rounder topping the run charts with 478 at an average of 79.67, including an incredible 141 not out off 65 balls against the Central Stags.

The ANZ Fan Moment of the Summer rounded off the opening day of three, with ten of the best plays of the International and Domestic home summer pitted against each other in an online competition decided by fans.

Retiring BLACKCAPS legend Ross Taylor and his wicket-taking finish to his Test career in Christchurch, proved the most popular with the public.

To view all the ANZ Fan Moments of the Summer, click here.

Day two of the awards sees the First-Class and Domestic batting and bowling cups handed out along with the men’s and women’s ANZ ODI Players of the Year, and the G.J. Gardner Homes Umpire of the Year award.

Thursday’s final day will see the presentation of the men’s and women’s Domestic Players of the Year, the ANZ Test Player of the Year, the Bert Sutcliffe Medal for outstanding services to cricket, and the supreme playing award - the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal.

A list of today’s winners and the remaining awards up for grabs can be found below, along with the winners from last year.

2022 ANZ NZC Awards – Day 1

ANZ International Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Sophie Devine (Wellington Blaze)
ANZ International Men’s T20 Player of the Year: Trent Boult (Northern Brave)
Women’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington Blaze)
Men’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year: Michael Bracewell (Wellington Firebirds)
ANZ Fan Moment of the Summer: Ross Taylor’s final wicket in his last Test

Community Awards

Gillette Venus Young Player of the Year: Fran Jonas (Auckland Cricket)
Gillette Young Player of the Year: Jacob Cumming (Otago Cricket)
Club of the Year: Pleasant Point Cricket Club (South Canterbury)
Volunteer of the Year: Jeremy Dean (Eastern Suburbs & Wellington Wanders)
Community Cricket Activator of the Year: Frances Stewart (Cricket Wellington)
Official of the Year: Brendon Davies (Northern Districts)
Best Female Engagement Initiative: Young Leaders (Cricket Wellington)
Outstanding Contribution and Services to Coaching: Maria Lankeshwar (nee Fahey) (Sydenham Cricket Club)
Outstanding Contribution to Cricket: Anthony de Joux (Celtic Cricket Club)
Best Diversity and Inclusion Initiative: Counties Manukau Premier League (Counties Manukau)
Community Cricket Collaboration Initiative of the Year: Canterbury Cricket
Sir Jack Newman: Gerard Finnie (Otago Cricket)






Asahi CCC Dream11 Dulux Ford Gillette GJ Gardner KFC Life Direct Pals Powerade Spark Spark