Images: Photosport

2015 New Zealand Post Shield champions found

Heaton v Havelock North

Heaton Normal Intermediate School 174/4 (E Firth 65, L Collier 32, M Fothergill 3-29) beat Havelock North Intermediate School 44 all out (G Ansell 2-2, M Kennedy 2-4) by 130 runs

Heaton Normal Intermediate School had the chance to finish the tournament as champions as they took on Havelock North Intermediate School on Lincoln No. 3 ground and batted first. A superb knock by Ellena Firth of 65 runs and a good supporting role by Lily Collier of 32 runs helped their side to a big total of 174. Molly Fothergill was the pick of the bowlers for Havelock with figures of 3-29. Havelock had a big chase on their hands but unfortunately lost regular wickets from tight bowling by Gracie Ansell (2-2) and Millie Kennedy (2-4) and fell to a 130-run loss. Heaton’s win crowned them as the New Zealand Post Shield 2015 Champions and left Havelock in 6th place.


Belmont Intermediate v Raroa

Raroa Normal Intermediate School 110/4 (K Whitman 28, O Preston 23, L Easterbrooke 1-10) lost to Belmont Intermediate School 114/6 (L Easterbrooke 55*, C Mills 3-15, R Tse 2-37) by 4 wickets

Raroa Normal Intermediate School and Belmont Intermediate School met in their final match on Bert Sutcliffe Oval where Raroa batted first and set a good score of 110 for Belmont to chase. Kyrah Whitman top-scored for Raroa with 28 and Ollie Preston also batted well with 23 runs, Libby Easterbrooke had tidy figures for Belmont of 1-10. Libby Easterbrooke continued her great form with the bat and steered her side to victory with a terrific captain’s knock of 55 not out. Charlotte Mills (3-15) and Rose Tse (2-37) bowled well to keep the game close, but Belmont ended with a relatively comfortable four-wicket win. Belmont’s win secured them as runners up for the tournament, and Raroa finished the tournament in fifth place.


Tauranga Intermediate v Arrowtown Primary

Nensi Patel scored her second unbeaten century in two days for Tauranga, a wonderful 145 not out off 70 balls.

Tauranga Intermediate School 210/4 (NH Patel 145*, L, Viggers 1-20) beat Arrowtown Primary School 101/6 (I Little 24, K Vermeir 21, L Vahey-Bourne 1-10) by 109 runs.

Tauranga Intermediate School played Arrowtown Primary School in their last match of the tournament on Lincoln Green where they batted first. In-form batsman of the tournament Nensi Patel continued her amazing run of form to take over the match and score an incredible 145* to help her side set a mammoth score of 210. Arrowtown looked to chase down the biggest target of the tournament, but were limited well by Tauranga’s bowlers. Indigo Little made 24 to top-score for Arrowtown and Kloe Vermeir scored 21 to support well, but in the end the target was too much, resulting in a big Tauranga win of 109 runs. Lola Vahey-Bourne was the pick of the bowlers for Tauranga with 1-10. Tauranga’s win helped them rise to finish in third place and leave Arrowtown in fourth place.


Congratulations to New Zealand Post Shield winners for 2015/16, Heaton Normal School!

Congratulations to tournament MVP Nensi Patel, above, of Tauranga Intermediate. Nensi, who has been likened to a young Kane Williamson, had a phenomenal tournament, scoring two unbeaten centuries of 145 & 107, a total of 343 runs, an average of 171.50 and a strike rate of 149.78!

Plus, Nensi was the second highest wicket taker with combined figures of 9 for 70, not a bad a week!

Congrats too to Libby Easterbrooke from Belmont Intermediate (below) who was awarded the coaches' MVP during the New Zealand Post Shield Finals.


With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks Dulux KFC
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Export Powerade TAB