South Africa claim T20 series

A good all-round performance from South Africa has ensured they take-out the three match Twenty20 series against the BLACKCAPS  at St George's Park, Port Elizabeth.

With the series level one-all it all came down to today’s final encounter to decide who took the honours and the home team put in a classy performance to win by 33 runs.

South African captain Faf du Plessis made a correct call at the toss and elected to bat and despite losing two early wickets managed to reach a formidable 179 for six while New Zealand made 146 for nine in reply.

The BLACKCAPS made a solid start to their reply with Martin Guptill and Brendon McCullum putting on an entertaining 47 runs in 6.2 overs.

However the visitors were soon put on the back-foot when they departed in the space of nine balls - Guptill caught at mid-wicket for 24 and McCullum caught at long-off for 23.

A number of big shots and small partnerships followed but no one was able to assert themselves long enough to make the significant contribution required.

Left-arm spinner Aaron Phangiso and seamer Ryan McLaren collected identical figures of 3-25.

Earlier, Ronnie Hira removed du Plessis for one before Mitchell McClenaghan got rid of Quinton de Kock for two to have home side teetering at 26 for two. 

South African opener Henry Davids had other ideas, striking a brilliant 68 from 51 deliveries and was joined by Justin Ontong who struck 48 from just 30 balls during a third wicket stand of 89 which laid the platform for bit hitting at the end to the innings.

David Miller again showed good from, hitting four boundaries in 28 runs from just 15 balls and Farhaan Behardien closed out the innings with an unbeaten 22 from just 11 deliveries.

McClenaghan again performed credibly with the ball taking two for 24 while Hira picked up one for 24.

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks Dulux KFC
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Export Powerade TAB