ND claimed a record-busting win. MBUTCHER

Heartbreaker at Hagley



Hagley Oval

14 November 2018


Result: Northern Districts won by four wickets

It was heartbreak at Hagley Oval as twin centuries went to no avail in a tough loss for Canterbury.

No team is yet out the running in this year's Ford Trophy — however, the race for the third qualifiers' spot is now looking considerably tighter, Canterbury devastated to have lost to Northern Districts despite both young opener Jack Boyle (above, PHOTOSPORT) and experienced first drop Stephen Murdoch (below) scoring their hundreds together at Hagley Oval.


The pair had carved out a new second-wicket record for Canterbury of exactly 200, beating the mark of 189 thast had been held by former BLACKCAPS Blair Hartland and Llorne Howell in Timaru back in 1993/94.

Twenty-two-year-old Boyle (126 off 146) achieved his maiden List A century to go with the maiden Plunket Shield (first-class) century he scored against the very same opposition just last month.


However, a faster start and concerted team effort from ND saw the visitors chase down Canterbury's solid 307 for four with 10 balls to spare, led at the top by captain Dean Brownlie's 73.

The impressive victory was ND's highest successful Ford Trophy chase against Canterbury, beating a mark that had been set in the 2004/05 season, with the reborn Joe Carter and wicketkeeper-batsman Peter Bocock (above) sharing a new seventh-wicket record between the two teams.


The loss leaves Canterbury in last spot on the table, on nine points with three matches to go, but still in contention with Northern Districts (14 points), the Auckland Aces (12) and the Central Stags (11) all set to squabble over qualification. A maximum of 15 points is available to each team from the final three rounds.

Competition Winner: Wellington Firebirds

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Otago Volts 10 7 3 0 0 0 2 30 -0.17
2 Wellington Firebirds 10 6 3 0 1 0 3 29 0.96
3 Auckland Aces 10 5 5 0 0 0 1 21 -0.41
4 Northern Districts 10 4 4 0 1 1 0 20 -0.28
5 Central Stags 10 3 5 0 0 2 1 17 0.04
6 Canterbury 10 2 7 0 0 1 1 11 -0.11

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Most Runs

1A Fletcher618
2J Neesham503
3C Bowes414
4Craig Cachopa412
5D Conway411
6H Rutherford393
7S Solia383
8N Broom380
9G Hay351
10S Murdoch340

Most Wickets

1H Bennett28
2J Duffy25
3O Newton20
4M Bacon16
5M McClenaghan15
6M Rippon14
7=C McConchie13
7=J Neesham13
9=A Devcich12
9=M Nofal12


With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels Burger King CCC Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade Radio Sport TAB