New Zealand A Tri-series champions

New Zealand A Tri-series champions

New Zealand A have won their Tri-series with the England Lions and Sri Lanka A, after overcoming the former by seven wickets (D/L Method) in Worcester overnight. 

Following their first game wash out against Sri Lanka, New Zealand has won all three subsequent matches in the Tri-Series to take home the silverware.

The Kiwi side won the toss and opted to bowl first, making early progress through Matt Henry (3-56) and Scott Kuggeleijn (2-57). However the Lions fought back through a 91 run partnership between Jonny Bairstow (77) and Tom Smith (71), securing the home side a respectable total of 255-8.

Rain at the innings break disrupted the start of New Zealand’s chase, changing their equation to require 220 from 36 overs. Solid contributions would see them complete the task comfortably, though it was Hamish Rutherford’s 95 which steered the ship for the majority of the pursuit. He was ably supported by Anton Devcich (49) and Tom Latham (48*), who brought the game to a close with a six. 

Coach Bob Carter was thrilled with his side’s efforts

“We’ve played consistent cricket throughout the series and that’s been really pleasing. Coming from winter at home we worked hard in the build up to make sure we’d be competitive against two really strong sides and that’s what makes winning this trophy so rewarding,” said Carter.

“The players have really stepped up in their positions and to see them make these strides forward with the World Cup around the corner is exciting for everyone. Matt Henry has been exceptional with the ball for us, while Tom Latham and Hamish Rutherford have led what has been a strong performing top order.”

New Zealand A now face Scotland in three One Day fixtures, before rounding off their tour with Three Day matches against Kent and Surrey.

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks Dulux KFC
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Asahi Les Mills Powerade TAB