Prolific Dodd underpinned another comprehensive victory. PHOTOSPORT (file photo)

Central Hinds through to Final

The two teams that will contest this season's Hallyburton Johnstone Shield Grand Final have been found. Now the only question to be answered — tomorrow (Sunday) — is where next week's national one-day Final will be played.
A dominant, nine-wicket win over the Otago Sparks in Palmerston North gave the Central Hinds a bonus point victory this afternoon, which — when the Hearts subsequently eliminated Wellington Blaze from the reckoning with a last-over 13-run victory in Auckland, later in the afternoon — was enough for the Hinds to lock in the last qualifying berth, with tomorrow's round to spare.
Had the Blaze got up over the Hearts, the two finalists would be heading into tomorrow's Round 10 with just one point separating them in the race to qualify top and host the Grand Final. However, the Hearts' victory at Colin Maiden Park, with five balls to spare, means they will take a five-point lead into tomorrow's last round of the regular season.
That means that if the Hinds are to get up and host the Final, they will now need another bonus-point win over the Sparks; a loss for the Hearts against the Blaze tomorrow; and, an improvement in their own net run rate in the process — making the Hearts odds-on favourites for the Grand FInal hosting rights.
At Fitzherbert Park, the Hinds were already celebrating in the pavilion after having bundled out a weakened Sparks team for just 116 runs. Despite the early loss of vice-captain Jess Watkin in reply, the Hinds had ticked off almost half the required runs before the lunch break, prolific opener Nat Dodd (44*) and captain Anlo van Deventer (51*) finishing off the job for no further loss after the break. Dodd's innings also moved her into top slot in this season's run aggregates with 462 runs from nine matches in her first summer with the Central team.

Competition Winner: Auckland Hearts

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Northern Spirit 10 8 1 0 1 0 3 37 0.84
2 Auckland Hearts 10 6 3 0 1 0 3 29 0.44
3 Canterbury Magicians 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.25
4 Central Hinds 10 4 4 0 1 1 3 23 0.30
5 Wellington Blaze 10 3 5 0 1 1 3 19 0.13
6 Otago Sparks 10 0 9 0 0 1 0 2 -2.11

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Most Runs

1Caitlin Gurrey576
2Frances Mackay569
3Felicity Leydon-Davis421
4Jessica McFadyen400
5=Jessica Watkin385
5=Natalie Dodd385
7Katie Perkins329
8Natalie Cox286
9Arlene Kelly273
10Lauren Down261

Most Wickets

1Bella Armstrong24
2Eimear Richardson22
3=Frances Mackay13
3=Sarah Asmussen13
5=Anna Peterson11
5=Hannah Rowe11
5=Kate Anderson11
8=Emma Black10
8=Gabrielle Sullivan10
8=Jacinta Savage10

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB