A captain's knock from Perry. PHOTOSPORT

Blaze scorch Spirit as Perry tons up


St Paul's Collegiate, Hamilton
9 December 2018

Result: Wellington Blaze won by 104 runs


As the back half of the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield began, Northern Spirit remained the only team yet to get a win on the board, and were eager to change that as captain Sam Curtis sent Wellington Blaze in at St Paul’s Collegiate, near Hamilton.

But there were as ominous signs early as Rebecca “Boomer” Burns blasted her first six in the 14th over, off Carolyn Esterhuizen, the Blaze off to a fast start at 71 for one after the first fifteen, helped along by a dozen extras.

However, they had just lost Burns’s firepower, trapped by youngster Emma Baker, bringing Amelia Kerr to the middle to join Lucy Doolan.

Blaze lost their second wicket under pressure, Doolan run out at the end of a maiden from Kate Anderson at 85 for two, bringing captain Liz Perry to the middle. Combining nicely, the new pair got the Blaze 100 on the board in the 28th, and to 153 by second drinks.

Perry reached her half century off 63 balls (4x4, 1x6) with Kerr starting to gather steam behind her. Kerr smacked Esterhuizen for a six to gallop to 48, but was caught next ball.

On 88* Perry lost Thamysn Newton, but with six wickets in hand there was still room for a big push at the death and Perry led the way, posting her second one-day century — and first since the 2011/12 summer — off just 90 balls (10 x 4, and 1 x 6 at the death).

Perry was caught on 114 with just three balls left in the innings, Jess McFadyen left unbeaten after a quick 27* as the Blaze posted 285 for five in their 50.

Despite a start of 34 from Sam Curtis and 68 from Kate Anderson, Spirit couldn't get close as Blaze closed in for a win in the 46th over, Kerr and Newton each collecting three-fa's.

Competition Winner: Auckland Hearts

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Northern Spirit 10 8 1 0 1 0 3 37 0.84
2 Auckland Hearts 10 6 3 0 1 0 3 29 0.44
3 Canterbury Magicians 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.25
4 Central Hinds 10 4 4 0 1 1 3 23 0.30
5 Wellington Blaze 10 3 5 0 1 1 3 19 0.13
6 Otago Sparks 10 0 9 0 0 1 0 2 -2.11

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Most Runs

1Caitlin Gurrey576
2Frances Mackay569
3Felicity Leydon-Davis421
4Jessica McFadyen400
5=Jessica Watkin385
5=Natalie Dodd385
7Katie Perkins329
8Natalie Cox286
9Arlene Kelly273
10Lauren Down261

Most Wickets

1Bella Armstrong24
2Eimear Richardson22
3=Frances Mackay13
3=Sarah Asmussen13
5=Anna Peterson11
5=Hannah Rowe11
5=Kate Anderson11
8=Emma Black10
8=Gabrielle Sullivan10
8=Jacinta Savage10

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB