A high five for five from five. PHOTOSPORT

Win caps 50th for Baxter, van Deventer



by 7 wickets at Hagley Oval
8 December 2018


A well executed away win was the perfect way for Hinds captain Anlo van Deventer to celebrate her 50th one-dayer for the team, but getting out for a duck to a debutante was not likely to have been part of the pre-match plan.

Teammate Kate Baxter also received her 50th cap as the Hinds looked to continue their winning way, unbeaten after four rounds.

They were in for a stern contest against a Canterbury Magicians side packed with experience, Frankie Mackay asking van Deventer to field first. But Mackay was an early wicket, the Mags 23 for two after early strikes for Claudia Green and Rosemary Mair.

They would lose a further quick wicket before WHITE FERN Kate Ebrahim (an unbeaten 92) and Jacinta Savage (55) used their experience to steady the ship, in a 116-run stand for the fourth wicket.

Finally the Hinds broke through, a fillip for Baxter in her 50th cap match, but couldn't get rid of Ebrahim as the Mags finished at 221 for six from their 50.

However, the Hinds had enough form and reason not be daunted by the chase so long as they stuck to their plans. Natalie Dodd made sure they did, the opener chalking up another red-inker with a patient 77*.

She shared partnerships with Emily Cunningham and Jess Watkin before Kerry Tomlinson helped her bring home the win with an unbeaten half century. The Hinds were now ahead of the Hearts on the table, with an extra bonus point.

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Northern Spirit 8 7 1 0 0 0 3 31 0.95
2 Auckland Hearts 8 6 2 0 0 0 3 27 0.51
3 Canterbury Magicians 8 4 3 0 0 1 2 20 0.26
4 Central Hinds 8 3 3 0 1 1 3 19 0.44
5 Wellington Blaze 8 1 5 0 1 1 1 9 -0.41
6 Otago Sparks 8 0 7 0 0 1 0 2 -1.91

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Grand Final - 14 Mar 2020

Most Runs

1C Gurrey541
2F Mackay429
3Jess Watkin333
4F Leydon-Davis290
5=K Perkins266
5=N Dodd266
7N Cox249
8Hayley Jensen233
9J McFadyen212
10S Shahri206

Most Wickets

1=B Armstrong18
1=E Richardson18
3S Asmussen11
4=A Peterson10
4=F Mackay10
4=K Anderson10
7=E Black9
7=J Savage9
9=C Esterhuizen8
9=G Sullivan8

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade Radio Sport TAB