An eight-wicket win capped a strong start from the Hearts. PHOTOSPORT

Defending champs off to a flier


Canterbury Magicians v Auckland Hearts

Nursery Ground, Hagley Park

18 November 2018

Result: Auckland Hearts won by eight wickets


Defending champions the Auckland Hearts made it two from two to kick off the national one-day season, with another bonus point win in the opening weekend of the national Hallyburton Johnstone Shield.
The Hearts brushed aside the Canterbury Magicians with an eight-wicket win — despite Mags captain Frances Mackay (above) having carried her bat with an unbeaten 112: her sixth women’s List A century.

Mackay lacked support, however, in her side’s total of 206 for eight batting first, Jacinta Savage’s dogged 45 the only other score of note.

Roz McNeill and Arlene Kelly both picked up two wickets, Saachi Shahri effected two runouts, and the Hearts restricted the Magicians to almost the same score as they had the day before.

Chasing 207 for victory, Hearts opener Lauren Down (above) produced her second half-century of the weekend (56 off 71), but Sunday’s standout for the Aucklanders was the evergreen Sara McGlashan. She slammed 93 runs off 83 balls, including 11 fours and one six.
Captain Katie Perkins came in after Down was dismissed in the 21st over and also scored at more than a-run-a-ball. Together, Perkins and McGlashan hit the Hearts to victory in fewer than 34 overs, the once again ominous Aucklanders going level on points with early leaders the Central Hind after a 10-wicket victory in New Plymouth.
Round Three of the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield begins on Saturday December 01.
Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Auckland Hearts 6 5 1 0 0 0 3 23 1.06
2 Northern Spirit 6 5 1 0 0 0 2 22 0.86
3 Central Hinds 6 2 2 0 1 1 2 14 0.09
4 Canterbury Magicians 6 2 3 0 0 1 0 10 -0.53
5 Wellington Blaze 6 1 3 0 1 1 1 9 0.05
6 Otago Sparks 6 0 5 0 0 1 0 2 -1.86

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Grand Final - 14 Mar 2020

Most Runs

1C Gurrey478
2F Mackay429
3=Jess Watkin266
3=K Perkins266
5Hayley Jensen233
6N Cox201
7B Bezuidenhout194
8N Dodd193
9F Leydon-Davis191
10K Anderson174

Most Wickets

1B Armstrong16
2E Richardson13
3A Peterson10
4F Mackay9
5Hayley Jensen8
6=C Esterhuizen7
6=Holly Huddleston7
6=J Kerr7
6=J Savage7
6=L Kasperek7

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade Radio Sport TAB