Defending champions off to winning start


Central Hinds beat Otago Sparks by 73 runs

Donnelly Park, Levin, 16 November 2019

See what happened in Round Two here

Defending champions the Central Hinds got off to a winning start in their 40th anniversary season, with a strong bowling attack proving too much for a fresh-look and youthful Otago Sparks side.

Sent in by new Sparks captain Bella James, the Hinds had earlier made hard work of their own innings, losing the big names in their top order cheaply at 33/3 before the seasoned pair of Kerry Tomlinson and Hannah Rowe took control of the rudder for the next 12 overs.

The diminutive Eden Carson claimed a big wicket in Rowe when the towering WHITE FERN was caught on 22, but Tomlinson (42) crucially stuck around to put on a further 30 runs in the next set of 10 with veteran and new Whanganui teammate Esther Lanser, who top-scored with a calm 45.

Although the Hinds were dismissed with seven balls left in the innings, the Sparks had handed them 29 runs in the extras column that inflated the target they then had to chase down to 199.

WHITE FERN seamer Rosemary Mair โ€” who hit headlines a fortnight ago for a perfect four-over spell, including a double hat-trick quadruple wicket maiden playing for Hawkeโ€™s Bay in the Shrimpton Trophy, again hit her mark straight away with the ball, taking figures of 4-1-5-2 from her opening spell.

Mair finished her 10 overs with three for 21 โ€” by which time the Sparks were nine down and hanging on by the skin of their teeth, with 92 runs needed off the last 10 overs.

The last pair of Sophie Gray, who top-scored with 36 on her Sparks debut, and Sophie Oldershaw put up a good fight with a 27-run stand for the last wicket before Rowe sealed a 73-run win in just the 43rd over to get the reigning champions off to a flier with a bonus point victory taking them to top spot on the table.

Competition Winner: Auckland Hearts

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Northern Spirit 10 8 1 0 1 0 3 37 0.84
2 Auckland Hearts 10 6 3 0 1 0 3 29 0.44
3 Canterbury Magicians 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.25
4 Central Hinds 10 4 4 0 1 1 3 23 0.30
5 Wellington Blaze 10 3 5 0 1 1 3 19 0.13
6 Otago Sparks 10 0 9 0 0 1 0 2 -2.11

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Most Runs

1Caitlin Gurrey576
2Frances Mackay569
3Felicity Leydon-Davis421
4Jessica McFadyen400
5=Jessica Watkin385
5=Natalie Dodd385
7Katie Perkins329
8Natalie Cox286
9Arlene Kelly273
10Lauren Down261

Most Wickets

1Bella Armstrong24
2Eimear Richardson22
3=Frances Mackay13
3=Sarah Asmussen13
5=Anna Peterson11
5=Hannah Rowe11
5=Kate Anderson11
8=Emma Black10
8=Gabrielle Sullivan10
8=Jacinta Savage10

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB