CD joined Auckland at the top of the table

Will Clark goes big for CD

NZC National Men’s Under 19 Tournament

ROUND TWO | 5 December 2019

Lincoln No.3, Lincoln

CD U19 beat Wellington U19 by 96 runs


A century to NZU19 rep Will Clark, of Hawke's Bay, saw Central Districts join Auckland at the top of the table after going two from two and picking up the bonus point.

CD number four batsman Clark's 123 was pasted off just 126 deliveries as he built a thumping 167-run stand for the third wicket with fellow NZU19 representative and Nelson opener Thomas Zohrab (75).

CD had been 42/2 after Wellington opener Thijs Turner had picked up two early wickets - CD batting first after captain Joey Field had won the toss.

But the CD pair of Zohrab and Clark ushered their side with ease through to 209/2 in the 41st over before Wellington finally got some respite from a long couple of hours in a windy field in the form of Zohrab's wicket, bowled by Ryan Jackson.

Stylish Clark swung hard for 13 boundaries and four sixes in his innings, taking the team through to 252/3 before Max Griffith picked up two at the death to see CD finish on 287/5.

Wellington made a healthy start in reply with 70-odd on the board by the 15th over, but lost their momentum with regular wickets.

Both openers got starts, and had been set for half centuries before being dismissed inside the first 20 overs.

It proved a catalyst for the CD attack, no one else in the Wellington side permitted to score more than 22 en route to being bowled out for 191, with six overs to spare. Taranaki's Jordie Gard was again in the wickets pocketing another three-fa.

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB