Tim Seifert did everything but get the BLACKCAPS home on a heartbreaking night in Wellington. PHOTOSPORT


Video Highlights

Warning ... this is not a drill.

The BLACKCAPS have been beaten in another Super Over. 

For a second straight game, India has stunned the hosts with a late fightback to force and then win the fourth T20I in overtime at SKY Stadium in Wellington.


BLACKCAPS leg-spinner Ish Sodhi was heading for the ANZ Player of the Match award after claiming the impressive figures of 3-26 to help restrict India to 165-8 from their 20 overs.

Colin Munro set the foundation for the chase with his 11th half-century and found valuable assistance from Tim Seifert (57 off 39) who was promoted to bat number three.

The run-chase looked all but over with less than a run-a-ball needed from the final three overs with seven wickets in hand.

But some late pressure and three wickets in the final over saw Mitchell Santner only able to take a single off the final ball to send the BLACKCAPS into their third Super Over in their last five T20Is.

Seifert scored eight off four balls before being dismissed leaving Colin Munro to take the total to a middling 13 from the BLACKCAPS six balls against Bumrah.

Tim Southee stepped up for the hosts but was unable to contain KL Rahul (10) and Virat Kohli (6*) who claimed victory with a ball to spare, despite Rahul being caught at deep square leg on the third ball.

Earlier, captain Kane Williamson was ruled out pre-match with a precautionary shoulder injury, meaning Tim Southee led the side and elected to field first with Tom Bruce and Daryl Mitchell added to the line-up.

India announced three changes with Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammad Shami all resting.

The series now moves to Mount Maunganui for game five under the lights at Bay Oval on Sunday.


With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks Dulux KFC
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Export Powerade TAB