Auckland perform again

Auckland have chased down Central District’s total with ease to become overall victors in the Provincial A tournament being held at Lincoln.

Needing 157 for victory the Auckland top-order stood tall and easily made the required runs with eight wickets and four overs to spare.

Auckland opted to bowl first and would have been satisfied with their performance.
Dean Robinson proved a thorn in their side though as the opener  made 42 for Central.
That would be their top score though, but a strong display from the middle order really saved Central who had been looking like they were going to finish with a poor total.

Will Young (26*) and Roald Badenhorst (25) made sure their final score was respectable as they helped get their side to 159 for seven at the end of 20 overs.

Bhupinder Singh was again dominant with the ball for Auckland and landed himself figures of two for 22 from four overs.

In reply Tim McIntosh strolled out to the crease having made a decent score in his last five innings. Again today he didn’t disappoint.

The Test specialist proved just the opposite and smashed three fours and five sixes in his unbeaten 64.
He didn’t top score though as Jeet Raval got in on the action as well and cracked an even faster 70 from 37 deliveries.

It was a spectacular performance from the two batsmen and one that also sealed victory for the Auckland team with eight wickets and four overs to spare.

It was a great performance for Auckland to announce themselves 2012 winners of the Provincial A tournament.

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks Dulux KFC
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Asahi Les Mills Powerade TAB