Over-40s Cricket is Here - Start your Second Innings

Veterans Cricket New Zealand is delighted to announce the establishment of Over-40s Cricket in this country. While the over-50s, over-60s and over-70s age groups have been around for several years, there has not been any competitive, organised national over-40s competition - until now. 

This is serious, competitive cricket. There is a social element, of course, but we are primarily looking for fit, skillful cricketers who can still compete at a high level. 

To achieve an even spread of players, New Zealand has been divided into four regions, reflecting the structure used successfully by New Zealand Over-50s Cricket. Each of these regions will enter two teams into a National Tournament to be held in November of 2022. Following this tournament, a New Zealand Over-40s team will be selected to play against Australia in February or March of 2023. Then, in late 2023, the first ever Over-40s Cricket World Cup will be held, involving up to 14 countries.

So, there are lots of exciting opportunities for players in their 40s to continue playing serious competitive cricket against the best in the country and, ultimately, against the best in the world.

Over-40s cricket is growing rapidly around the world. Since the announcement of the Over-40s World Cup, 14 countries have started or continued developing over-40s programmes similar to New Zealand's. In Pakistan, for example, over-40s leagues have been in place for more than 20 years and in more than 70 cities. Australia will be holding a national inter-state tournament in late 2022 and other leading cricketing nations are doing similarly.

Veterans cricket is one of the fastest-growing cricket demographics in the world. Two Over-50s World Cups have already been held, and the inaugural Over-60s World Cup is scheduled for September of this year.

If you - or someone you know - is interested in playing Over-40s cricket, please email Jim Morrison at over50sworldcup@gmail.com. Please include your date of birth, phone number, playing style (e.g., wicket-keeper, leg-spinner) and a brief playing history (the club you currently play for and the highest level you have played at). Note that players can be 39 currently - you must be born before September 1, 1983 to be eligible.

The four regional teams are:

  • Auckland (includes Northland)
  • Districts (the North Island apart from Auckland and Wellington/Wairarapa/Horowhenua)
  • Wellington/Tasman
  • Canterbury/Otago

There are also some great sponsorship opportunities regarding veterans cricket. Playing numbers are growing rapidly, as is the exposure at all levels, and this demographic is potentially very attractive. Again, anyone interested in sponsoring veterans cricket can contact Jim at over50sworldcup@gmail.com.

Get involved and start your "second innings"!

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks Dulux KFC
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Export Powerade TAB