NZC umpiring pathway proving a success

Two promotions feature in NZC’s umpire appointments for the 2019-20 season, magnifying the success of the Umpiring Pathway Programme. 

At the national level, John Dempsey has been promoted from the Reserve Panel to the National Panel with Allen Stanley to fill his spot on the Reserve Panel.

“It's tremendously satisfying to have a lot of hard work pay dividends,” said Dempsey.

“I’m humbled to have been chosen from such a strong group of talented umpires on our Reserve Panel,” he said.

NZC Match Officials Manager Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri said Dempsey continued a proud tradition of First-Class umpires coming from the Counties region, following in the footsteps of Tony Hill and Ash Mehrotra. 

“John is a product of the NZC Umpiring Pathway Programme,” said Eden-Whaitiri.

“He’s performed very well at the highest levels of domestic cricket over the past three seasons.”

Stanley’s promotion to the Reserve Panel was especially pleasing, with his performances at NZC tournaments and Hallyburton Johnstone Shield matches over the past two seasons catching the eye of the selection panel.

“It’s great to see umpires coming through the system and getting rewarded for consistent performances, said Eden-Whaitiri.

“Allen deserves his spot on the Reserve Panel and we wish him well for the season ahead.”

There’s no change for New Zealand’s top umpires with Chris Gaffaney remaining on the ICC Elite Panel while Chris Brown, Wayne Knights and Shaun Haig all retain their spots on the International Panel.

NZC Umpire Panels are chosen by a selection panel consisting of Eden-Whaitiri and umpire selectors Ross Dykes and Gary Baxter.

*National Panel umpires primarily officiate in the Plunket Shield, Ford Trophy and Super Smash competitions while the Reserve Panel primarily officiate in the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield, NZC National Tournaments and Hawke Cup Challenge matches.


GJ Gardner Homes NZC Umpire Panels 2019-20 (in alphabetical order): 


ICC Elite Panel:

Chris Gaffaney – Otago

International Panel:

Chris Brown – Auckland

Shaun Haig – Otago

Wayne Knights – Auckland

National Panel:

Billy Bowden – Auckland

John Bromley – Canterbury

John Dempsey – Northern Districts

Ash Mehrotra – Northern Districts

Tim Parlane – Canterbury

Derek Walker – Otago

Reserve Panel:

Cory Black – Wellington

Kim Cotton – Canterbury

Tyron Davies – Wellington

Lui Els – Northern Districts

Richard Hooper – Central Districts

Kannan Jagannathan – Otago

Damian Morrow – Northern Districts

Pete Pasco – Otago

Eugene Sanders – Canterbury

Tim Shirriffs – Central Districts

Allen Stanley – Auckland

Garth Stirrat – Wellington

Glen Walklin – Central Districts

NZC Match Referees Panel:

Gary Baxter 

Ross Dykes

Richard Hayward

Kevin Pulley

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB