Image supplied

NZ claim victory at Over 60's State Champs

The New Zealand team has claimed victory in the second division at the 13th Annual Australian Veterans Over 60’s State Championships held in Penrith, NSW.

New Zealand sent two teams across to the State Championships and both teams went through the round robin stages unbeaten and played in the Division two and three finals.

The New Zealand One team, playing Queensland in the final had to chase down 240 in 45 overs and got there with one ball to spare. There was excellent batting by the openers Cliff King 50 no (batsmen have to retire at 50) and Danny Langrope 53no, with strong support by Gary Rudolph 52no and a flurry from Bevan Guthrie 27 and Murray Brown 26 to get the team home.

The New Zealand Two team playing against New South Wales in their final started well with Rod Smith 41no, and Gordon Kuggeliejn 43no (batsmen retiring at 40) but ten struggled to 180/6 with Gavin Chatfield 39. This wasn’t enough to contain the NSW team and they won in the 37th over by 6 wickets.

The New Zealand One team should now be promoted to the top division for next year’s tournament being held in Adelaide, South Australia.

The NZ One winning team:

John Cushen (capt), Ewen Chatfield, Paul Facoory, Murray Brown, Bevan Guthrie, Roger Harvey, Bruce Hooper-Smith, Gus Klein, Cliff King, Danny Langrope, Gary Rudolph and Fraser Skinner.

The NZ Two team:

Jeremy Wilson (capt), Gavin Chatfield, John Davidson, Gordon Kuggeliejn, Bob Masefield, Peter Meads, Johan Morreau, Peter Nixon, Brian O’Connell, Simon Payton, Allan Pond, Murray Riley, Lance Ryan, Rod Smith, and Kim Whittington.

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels Dynasty Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Monteiths