Maori Secondary Schoolgirls and Schoolboys teams named

Maia Lewis and Duncan Murray, respectively, will coach the girls and boys Māori Secondary Schools sides to play Governor General’s XIs at Wellington’s Karori Park later this month.

Lewis, a former WHITE FERNS captain who played nine Tests and 78 ODIs for New Zealand, will coach what will be the inaugural Māori Secondary Schoolgirl’s team; the boys side having been launched last summer.

The secondary schoolgirls team includes players from each of the six Major Associations, including four players who have represented their MAs at Under 19 level: Ocean Bartlett (CD), Sam Mackinder (Wellington), and Angelique Peyroux and Harriet Cuttance (both Otago).

Murray, an assistant coach with the Wellington Blaze, is the son of former New Zealand Test captain Bruce (Bags) Murray, and last season acted as the assistant coach of the inaugural Māori Secondary Schoolboys team.

The Māori Secondary Schoolboys team is also brimming with emerging talent, including five players from last year’s side as well as Ryan Jackson – a member of the New Zealand Under 19 side.

It also includes Payton Spencer, the son of All Black Carlos Spencer.

Players from both teams will assemble in Wellington on Tuesday, February 18 and will stay at the Pipitea Marae for the remainder of the week, engaging in many activities, with a focus on connecting with tikanga.

The games will be played on Thursday, February 20, with the schoolgirls’ side playing two T20 matches (starting at 10.30am and 3pm) and the schoolboys side playing a 50-over contest (starting at 10.30am).

Former BLACKCAPS Test wicket-keeper Adam Parore will join both teams in a support and mentor role, and will be present at the capping ceremony at Pipitea Marae on Wednesday, February 19.

Both Māori teams were selected by Northern Districts’ Pat Malcon.

The Māori Secondary Schools initiative was the recipient of the ‘Innovation in School Sport’ award in 2019 presented by School Sport NZ (NZSSSC).

NZ Maori Schoolboys




Lachie Bailey

Ngāti Raukawa & Ngāti Kāhungunu

Hutt International Boys School

Joel Clark

Ngā Puhi & Ngāti Rāhiri Tumutumu

Palmerston North Boys High School

Elias Falanitule

Te Rarawa

Sacred Heart College, Auckland

Jacob Gilbert

Ngai Tāhu

Kings High School, Dunedin

Curtis Heaphy

Ngai Tāhu

Palmerston North Boys High School

Ryan Jackson

Ngā Māhanga a Tairi

St. Patrick’s College Silverstream

Kuwyn Price

Ngāti Porou & Ngāti Hauā

St. Paul’s Collegiate, Hamilton

Nathan Robinson

Ngāti Hei

Kings College, Auckland

Payton Spencer

Ngati Kāhungunu

Hamilton Boys High School

Brayden Thomas

Te Ātiawa

Southland Boys High School

Alex Thompson

Ngā Puhi

Onslow College

Jamal Todd

Ngāti Whātua

Auckland Grammar School

Head Coach: Duncan Murray, Te Whanganui-a-Tara
Assistant Coach: Michael Tillett, Tamaki Makaurau
Assistant Coach: Michael Rameka, Ngāti Tūwharetoa

NZ Maori Schoolgirls




Ocean Bartlett

Ngāti Porou & Ngā Puhi

St. Matthew’s Collegiate

Waimarie Carter

Te Arawa

Onslow College

Harriet Cuttance

Waikato Tainui

Columba College

Marama Downes

Ngāti Tuwharetoa

Pakuranga College 

Ella Drumm

Ngāti Porou

Epsom Girls Grammar

Ella Gibson

Tuhoe, Te Aitanga a Mahaki & Ngāti Porou

Lincoln High School

Kayarna Jones-Dennes

Ngati Kāhungunu

Wairarapa College

Sam Mackinder

Te Whānau-ā-Apanui

Palmerston North Girls High School

Angelique Peyroux

Ngai Tāhu

Columba College

Jess Smith

Ngā Puhi & Tainui

Kaipara College

Anika Todd

Ngāti Whātua

Mount Albert Grammar School

Chelsea Traill

Ngā Puhi

Whangarei Girls High School

Head Coach: Maia Lewis, Ngāti Whātua & Ngāti Maniapoto
Assistant Coach: Tanya Morrison, Ngai Tāhu
Assistant Coach: Hannah Beatson, Ōtautahi

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade Radio Sport TAB