ND went through unbeaten at NZC's U17 Nationals

Droughtbreaker: Northern Districts wins NZC Under-17 Nationals in style

It's been a long time between drinks for Northern Districts at the NZC Under 17 National Tournament, but today ND's next generation completed a magnificent week in which they lifted the title undefeated.

Northern Districts last won the New Zealand title in 2002/03, but at the completion of the one-day round robin yesterday, already had the 2022/23 trophy in the bag heading into the solitary T20 round this morning.

Northern Districts has an almost perfect record after five victories with four bonus points from the five one-day rounds, leaping way out in front to 24 points - with Wellington Under 17 and Auckland Under 17 left to wrestle for second place, both on 15 points ahead of this morning's T20 contest with the last four points on the line.

Both of the city teams had started the tournament impressively but lost momentum towards its end. Athough both teams lost their T20 match today, they were far enough ahead to hold on to the minor placings regardless.

Canterbury lifted the title the last time this tournament was played in 2019/20, and avoided the wooden spoon after finishing with a T20 win against Central Districts - who endured a tough week, despite two five-wicket bags among their strong bowling attack.

Otago Under 17 also finished on a positive note with a T20 win. Auckland's Cambell Brighouse (350 runs at 58.33, high score 98), Wellington's Will Julian (323 runs at 53.83, high score 96), Canterbury's Ben Trillo (318 runs at 53.00 with the tournament high score of 135) and Auckland number four Tom Jones (291 runs at 48.50 with a top score of 105) all stood out across the tournament week with the bat, with Wellington's Jack Gaskin, ND pair Sam Clode and Aryandeep Mann also having scored a century.

Central Districts' Sacha Pickering (6-61), Otago's Mason Clarke (5-24), Canterbury's Callum Samson (5-26), Central's Matthew Rowe (5-29) and ND star Snehith Reddy (5-33) all celebrated taking a bag, while Otago's Henry Scott finished as the top wicket-taker overall with 15 at 16.27, ahead of Reddy and fellow ND bowler Gus Tustin who both finished with 12.

CD's George Mowat was on top of his game behind the stumps with 10 catches and four stumpings, as was ND's Sam Clode with a phenomenal eight stumpings and nine catches.

NZC Men's Under 17 National Tournament - 2022/23
Final Placings
Northern Districts 28 (4 bonus points)
Auckland 15 (3 bonus points)
Wellington 15 (3 bonus points)
Otago 14 (2 bonus points)
Canterbury 9 (1 bonus point)
Central Districts 4 (0 bonus points)

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks Dulux KFC
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Asahi Les Mills Powerade TAB