Jack Boyle | CDCA

Oh, boy! It's brother versus brother in Ford Trophy Final

Justin and Genevieve Boyle can't lose heading into this Tuesday's Ford Trophy Grand Final in Napier, with two sons named in the squads to play for the national title. Choosing which team to support may be tricky, however...
11am • Tuesday, 28 March
Central Stags v Canterbury
McLean Park, Napier
• Free admission and free multicamera livestream with live commentary on NZC YouTube and www.nzc.nz livescoring/NZC app

One of the sons, Matt Boyle, has today been named in Canterbury's Ford Trophy squad for the national one-day decider. It's the team that Justin himself represented in this competition, as an opening batsman in the 1987/88 season.

Justin's brother David Boyle was also a longtime Canterbury opening batsman, and Justin's other son Jack (elder brother of Matt) is another chip off the block, having also represented Canterbury as an opening batsman across several seasons.

Jack Boyle during his Canterbury days | PHOTOSPORT

But during the 2022 winter, Jack Boyle made the call to move up to Hawke's Bay to try to further his playing opportunities - linking up with Canterbury's regular Ford Trophy rivals, the Central Stags.

He's now been named in the Stags' squad for tomorrow's Grand Final, potentially pitting one brother against the other for the first time in their Domestic cricket careers.

Said Jack Boyle, "I've only played against Matt once before, in a preseason fixture. There was a bit of chat flying about and it just felt like we were in the backyard again. It will be interesting tomorrow if it happens in the Final."

Matt Boyle in Napier ahead of the Grand Final | MBUTCHER

Boyle's parents are scrambling to get up from Christchurch to be at the big game which was originally scheduled for Queenstown in February, before Cyclone Gabrielle and its impact on the Stags (the majority of the team based in flood-ravaged Hawke's Bay) led to a postponement and eventual rescheduling in Napier.

Canterbury meanwhile headed off to beat the Otago Volts in the 2 versus 3 Elimination Final in Queenstown to book a ticket to this year's Final against the Stags - who have gone direct through to the Grand Final as the top qualifier for the second consecutive season, but lost last summer's Final to the Auckland Aces.

The Stags will be without a key player in paceman Brett Randell.

Randell is The Ford Trophy season's equal top wicket-taker (alongside Otago Volt Michael Rae, both finishing with 18 wickets), but was concussed whilst batting during last week's Plunket Shield match in Palmerston North.

Brett Randell | PHOTOSPORT

However, the Stags have regained class allrounder Doug Bracewell from the BLACKCAPS, and Liam Dudding from the injury tent after the paceman's recovery from a midseason broken forearm.

Canterbury has also called in reinforcements after losing allrounder Henry Shipley and now star fielder and opening batsman Chad Bowes to the BLACKCAPS - with Sean Davey joining the one-day squad fresh off his stunning Plunket Shield bowling blitz in Rangiora where he bagged 11 for the match against the Firebirds.

Canterbury is the only Association to have qualified for all four NZC national white-ball finals this season: the women's Dream11 Super Smash (won by the Canterbury Magicians), the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield (won by Wellington Blaze), the men's Dream11 Super Smash (won by the Northern Brave) and now The Ford Trophy, tomorrow, against the swashbuckling Stags.


The Stags' prolific Hawke's Bay local Brad Schmulian will head in as the second highest run-scorer in the competition to date, after four half centuries - including his high score of 93 and then 59 in the team's last match at the same ground, both against Northern Districts in February. Sitting on 383 runs, another good knock will see Schmulian overtake Otago Volts captain Hamish Rutherford in the overall run stakes, Rutherford having finished his season on 408 runs.


The Grand Final match is free admission to treat the Hawke's Bay public and cricket community after a challenging month, and is the first national cricket final to be played in Hawke's Bay in 22 years.

Said BLACKCAP and Central Stags spinner Ajaz Patel (who represents Hawkes Bay and the local Taradale club), “After the cylone and all the devastation that’s happened here in Hawke’s Bay, it’s really cool to be able to play here and hopefully get a decent crowd along so that we can really bring some joy to a lot of faces.

“As a professional sportsperson, you’re also an entertainer, and it’s important we put on a show, put on a nice day out for people and their family and their friends.”

Gates open at 10am tomorrow with the toss and playing XIs named at 10.30am and first ball at 11am.


Tom Bruce (captain)

Jack Boyle

Doug Bracewell

Will Clark

Josh Clarkson

Dane Cleaver (w)

Liam Dudding

Jayden Lennox

Ajaz Patel

Brad Schmulian

Bevan Small

Ben Smith

Ray Toole


Cole McConchie (c)

Matt Boyle

Leo Carter

Harry Chamberlain

Blake Coburn

Sean Davey

Cam Fletcher (w)

Mitch Hay

Rhys Mariu

Angus McKenzie

Ed Nuttall

Will O'Rourke

Fraser Sheat






Asahi CCC Dream11 Dulux Ford Gillette GJ Gardner KFC Pals Powerade Spark