The West Indies became the first team to win two World T20 titles when they triumphed in India in 2016.

Beware the T20 CHAMPIONS

Time for the CHAMPIONS to awake

Despite a challenging tour so far, one thing the West Indies seldom lack is confidence, especially in T20 cricket.

The Calypso Kings rode an unforgettable wave to being crowned World T20 Champions in India in early 2016 and they will fancy themselves in the three-game T20 series against the BLACKCAPS which starts at Saxton Oval in Nelson on Friday, December 29th.


Tim Southee (Knights) (captain 1st T20), Doug Bracewell (Stags), Tom Bruce (Stags), Lockie Ferguson (Aces), Martin Guptill (Aces) Matt Henry (Kings), Anaru Kitchen (Volts), Colin Munro (Aces), Glenn Phillips (Aces), Seth Rance (Stags), Mitchell Santner (Knights), Ish Sodhi (Knights), Ross Taylor (Stags) (1st T20), Kane Williamson (Knights) (2nd & 3rd T20), Trent Boult (Knights) (3rd T20)

“I think there are more explosive batting options in this squad than ever before,” - selector Gavin Larsen

WEST INDIES: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Samuel Badre, Ronsford Beaton, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shai Hope, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams

Something New
A special day looms for the BLACKCAPS pace-bowler Tim Southee who's poised to captain his country for the first time in the absence of Kane Williamson. He'll be our seventh T20 captain and is also on the verge of becoming just the second BLACKCAPS behind Nathan McCullum to take 50 T20I wickets.

Anaru to debut
Otago Volts batting all-rounder Anaru Kitchen has forced his way into the T20 side off the back of some exceptional domestic form. At 33 Kitchen is a testament to never giving up and he's set to be rewarded with his first game for his country.

Windies Power
Strong and explosive players with both bat and ball, it’s no wonder the Carribean entertainers have consistently been a threat in short-form cricket. Chris Gayle and World T20 hero and current captain Carlos (REMEMBER THE NAME) Brathwaite headline the squad along with spin-king Samuel Badree who’s ranked fourth in the ICC bowling rankings.

What they are saying...

Final Fun Fact
There have been nine T20 Internationals in the format’s history where teams have been tied after both innings, three of which have been New Zealand against West Indies. No other fixture has been tied more than once. 

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui