Howzat? The Volts are in the Final! PHOTOSPORT

2018/19 Ford Trophy Finals for Dunedin and Auckland

From dead last in the previous two seasons, the revitalised Otago Volts stand on the cusp of pulling off their first Ford Trophy championship in more than a decade.

The Volts have gone top. PHOTOSPORT

The Volts last wore the national men's one-day crown in 2007/08, but have snuck up to secure the 2018/19 home Ford Trophy Grand Final for Dunedin, to be played at the University of Otago Oval this Saturday 1 December and televised LIVE on SKY Sport.

It's been a remarkable turnaround for the southerners who edged the Wellington Firebirds for top spot by one point after the completion of the initial 10 rounds, after a thrilling last-ball victory in Invercargill over defending champions the Auckland Aces.

Matt McEwan feeling the pain but it ain't over for the Aces. PHOTOSPORT

It's not over for the Aces, however, who will get to host The Ford Trophy Elimination Final this Wednesday (11am November 28) at Eden Park Outer Oval, after second qualifiers the Wellington Firebirds ceded hosting rights to the match due to the unavailability of the Basin Reserve.

Even at their home "fortress", the Aces will need to be on top of their game to hold out the Firebirds who have been in red hot form throughout the competition. Opening batsman Andrew Fletcher has smashed batting records in his first season and leads the competition's run charts, while captain Hamish Bennett maintains his grip on the top of the season wicket tallies, a nose in front of his Otago Volts rival Jacob Duffy.

Get set for an exciting build-up to sudden death, high-pressure Ford Trophy Finals, with just three power-packed teams left standing!

Competition Winner: Wellington Firebirds

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Otago Volts 10 7 3 0 0 0 2 30 -0.17
2 Wellington Firebirds 10 6 3 0 1 0 3 29 0.96
3 Auckland Aces 10 5 5 0 0 0 1 21 -0.41
4 Northern Districts 10 4 4 0 1 1 0 20 -0.28
5 Central Stags 10 3 5 0 0 2 1 17 0.04
6 Canterbury 10 2 7 0 0 1 1 11 -0.11

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Most Runs

1A Fletcher618
2J Neesham503
3C Bowes414
4Craig Cachopa412
5D Conway411
6H Rutherford393
7S Solia383
8N Broom380
9G Hay351
10S Murdoch340

Most Wickets

1H Bennett28
2J Duffy25
3O Newton20
4M Bacon16
5M McClenaghan15
6M Rippon14
7=C McConchie13
7=J Neesham13
9=A Devcich12
9=M Nofal12

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels Burger King CCC Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade Radio Sport TAB