Magicians end Hinds' title defence



Pukekura Park | 23 February 2020


Having already been in the danger zone needing results in Hamilton to go their way, defending champions the Central Hinds were sent in for the weather-delayed, penultimate must-win at Pukekura Park.

After overnight rain resulted in an early lunch, both the Hinds and Canterbury Magicians were anxious to get on the park before the ground dried out sufficiently for Magicians captain Frankie Mackay to win the toss in a reduced 36-over contest.

Jess Simmons and Gabby Sullivan then claimed two big wickets inside the first nine overs with Jess Watkin and Hinds captain Anlo van Deventer both back in the pavilion at 27 for two.

With the match in Hamilton subsequently abandoned and putting a qualification spot beyond their reach, the Hinds could now only spoil the Magicians' last shot at qualifying.

Restricted to 155 for seven as the Mags shared the wickets, the game got interesting when the Hinds replied in kind. Hannah Rowe struck in her first over to remove English import Ella Chandler, while Nat Cox made a fast start reaching 36 at run a ball pace, with two sixes.

Monique Rees and Melissa Hansen had chipped out their first wickets to have the Magicians 103 for three, but the big one was Mackay - and coming back into the attack, Rowe had her soon after in the 24th at 110 for four, caught on 33.

A clump of wickets then fell in quick succession to have the Magicians 115 for seven, but some good finishing from Kirsty Nation and Gabby Sullivan in an unbeaten 41*-stand got the visitors home in time for a bonus to keep the red and black flag flying in the campaign.

Competition Winner: Auckland Hearts

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Northern Spirit 10 8 1 0 1 0 3 37 0.84
2 Auckland Hearts 10 6 3 0 1 0 3 29 0.44
3 Canterbury Magicians 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.25
4 Central Hinds 10 4 4 0 1 1 3 23 0.30
5 Wellington Blaze 10 3 5 0 1 1 3 19 0.13
6 Otago Sparks 10 0 9 0 0 1 0 2 -2.11

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Most Runs

1Caitlin Gurrey576
2Frances Mackay569
3Felicity Leydon-Davis421
4Jessica McFadyen400
5=Jessica Watkin385
5=Natalie Dodd385
7Katie Perkins329
8Natalie Cox286
9Arlene Kelly273
10Lauren Down261

Most Wickets

1Bella Armstrong24
2Eimear Richardson22
3=Frances Mackay13
3=Sarah Asmussen13
5=Anna Peterson11
5=Hannah Rowe11
5=Kate Anderson11
8=Emma Black10
8=Gabrielle Sullivan10
8=Jacinta Savage10

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB