More information on the Hawke Cup

There are four Hawke Cup regional zones:

  • Zone One  Hamilton, Northland, Counties-Manukau, Bay of Plenty, Poverty Bay and Waikato Valley
  • Zone Two  Hawke’s Bay, Wairarapa, Wanganui, Horowhenua Kapiti, Manawatu and Taranaki
  • Zone Three  Canterbury Country, Marlborough, Nelson, Buller
  • Zone Four  Otago Country, North Otago, Southland, South Canterbury and Mid Canterbury

Each zone's winner gets a three-day Hawke Cup Challenge as part of the challenge series against the current holders on a rotational basis. If the current Hawke Cup holders finish top of their zone then the team finishing in second place qualifies for the challenge series.

The team with the Hawke Cup at the end of the challenge series holds it for the winter. To win the Hawke Cup a challenger must beat the holder outright or win on the first innings on the holder's home ground.

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui