Gillette Cup

The Gillette Cup (Secondary School Boys’ First XI Cup) is a secondary school competition for year nine to thirteen boys. The Gillette Cup began in 1990 and is among the longest-running competitions in secondary school sport. The competition provides the opportunity for players to compete against some of the best school teams in the country with many first-class cricketers and BLACKCAPS having made their name in this tournament.

St Andrews College win the 2019 Gillette Cup. Image: Photosport

The 2019 national finals for the Gillette Cup were held at Lincoln University from the 1-5 December. All games were live scored at and on the NZC mobile app.

Teams who enter the Gillette Cup begin by playing in term one of the school year within their region against nearby school teams. Teams who are successful through the initial regional rounds then advanced to their regional finals. The six regional winners from around the country are invited to the national finals being held in term four of the school year. The national finals consist of one-day cricket played in a round robin format.

The Gillette Cup has become synonymous with secondary school boys’ cricket and the development of players for the future.


If your school is interested in registering for the Gillette Cup, please contact your local association.

Information on the 2020-21 tournament will be published here as it become available closer to the start of the season.

Points tables and statistics

View points tables and leaderboards

CricHQ Live Scoring

Previous winners

View previous winners

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB