NZCT National Club Cricket Championship History

The National Club Cricket Championship (NCCC) was conceived in the 1970s. Auckland's Cornwall Cricket Club and Canterbury's High School Old Boys' played the inaugural final at Cornwall Park in 1976: Cornwall emerged as the victors. In those days, the competition comprised 40 eight-ball overs, and included a requirement for 15 overs of spin to be bowled.

The teams that day included some great names of New Zealand cricket: brothers Richard, Dayle and Barry Hadlee, Cran Bull, Wayne Burtt and Alan Hounsell for HSOB; and Rodney Redmond, John Kasper, Graham Vivian, Arch Taylor and Dave Anderson for Cornwall; all of whom were current or former first-class or New Zealand reps.

The tournament ceased in 1978, but was resurrected in 1994/95. The format was based on a three-day tournament, two groups of three playing two matches each; the top two teams playing in the final.

Support from New Zealand Cricket, Major Associations and clubs has allowed the event to evolve into a full round robin tournament played over six days, with each of the six participants playing each other in order to determine the finalists.

Green Island from Otago and Victoria University from Wellington have had the most success at the tournament with Green Island winning five titles and University three titles.

Many BLACKCAPS have featured in the tournament over the years, including Gary Stead, Llorne Howell, Matt Horne, Heath Davis, Alex Tait, Brooke Walker, Kerry Walmsley, Geoff Allott, James and Hamish Marshall, Matthew Bell, Jesse Ryder, Michael Papps, James Franklin, Rob Nicol, Nathan McCullum, Andy Mckay, Ian Butler, Andrew Ellis, Tarun Nethula, Todd Astle, Colin de Grandhomme, Colin Munro, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi and Jimmy Neesham.

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels Dynasty Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui